TOP   >   Nakasone Yasuhiro Award

Nakasone Yasuhiro Award


Purpose of Award

Since its foundation in 1988, Nakasone Peace Institute (NPI) has conducted independent research on a wide range of issues, convened international conferences featuring presentations and discussions by leading experts from Japan and overseas, and fostered cooperative research and exchange with foremost research institutes around the world.

Since the terrorist attacks in the United States on September 11, 2001, tensions have heightened around the world, and situations in the Middle East and the Korean Peninsula, particularly, are of serious concern. The world today is faced with a vast array of serious political and economic issues requiring resolution. Among the enormous transformations in the global political and economic spheres are pursuit of a new international order and efforts to build regional economic cooperation, as well as such global issues as the environment and energy.

In these complex circumstances, individual resourcefulness and intellect together with positive effort and action in a bold and proactive approach are the keys toward creation of a brighter twenty-first century. The younger generation will be the principal members who will take on these challenges.

With these considerations in mind, the Nakasone Yasuhiro Award is intended to both honor meaningful achievements in the political, economic, cultural, and science and technology fields and encourage further endeavors which will contribute toward the realization of true peace and prosperity in the international community.

Detailed Information

Selection Criteria and Award Presentation

Applications are accepted by self-nominees and referrals from specialists annually from July through January. Award recipients are determined by the Selection Committee and authorized by the Steering Committee. The award ceremony is held in June and the public announcement follows soon after that.


Candidates with demonstrated exemplary research or activity in the following fields are encouraged to apply.

  1. Enhancing peace and security in the international community
  2. Promotion of international economic development and cooperation
  3. Activities to support international exchange in culture and arts as well as cultural cooperation
  4. International joint research and international collaboration in the fields of science and technology.
  5. Efforts in such global issues as the environment, energy, medicine, poverty, etc.

Awards Conferred

Award of Excellence (1 recipient)
Incentive Award (a small number of recipients)
In principle, the above Awards will be granted to individuals, but in some cases groups will also be considered.


Applicants from Japan and the Asia-Pacific region who are around the age of 45 or younger.

Award Details

Award of Excellence: Award plaque accompanied by 1,000,000 yen
Incentive Award: Award plaque accompanied by 500,000 yen

Steering Committee and Selection Committee

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee, consisting of leading experts and associates of NPI, determines the policy and authorizes the results of the Selection Committee.

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee, consisting of leaders in their various fields and associates of NPI, reviews and selects Award recipients.

Steering Committee Members* and Affiliations

Gerald Curtis Burgess Professor Emeritus, Columbia University
Ichiro Fujisaki President, Nakasone Peace Institute
Shinji Fukukawa Adviser, Association for Technological Excellence Promoting Innovative Advances
Kazutoshi Hasegawa Former Ambassador to Australia
Takashi Imai Honorary Chairman, Nippon Steel Corporation
Yoriko Kawabuchi Visiting Professor, Musashino University; Fellow, Musashino Institute for Global Affairs
Shinichi Kitaoka Chief Research Adviser, Nakasone Peace Institute
Akira Kojima Adviser, Japan Center for Economic Research
Fumiaki Kubo Executive Director of Research, Nakasone Peace Institute
Masamori Sase Professor Emeritus, National Defense Academy of Japan; Professor, Takushoku University
Akio Watanabe Vice President, Research Institute for Peace and Security

Selection Committee Members* and Affiliations

Keiko Chino Guest Columnist, The Sankei Shimbun
Misako Ito Secretary-General, Japan CULCON (The US-Japan Conference on Cultural and Educational Interchange)
Fumiaki Kubo Executive Director of Research, Nakasone Peace Institute
Masashi Nishihara President, Research Institute for Peace and Security
Mie Oba Professor, Tokyo University of Science
Eiji Tajika Professor, Hitotsubashi School of International and Public Policy

*Listed in alphabetical order; honorary titles omitted.

Page top